The Book of Schultz

May 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

On a whim, my father, who abhors shopping almost as he dislikes Starbucks, bought a recent book published by Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz

I found the copy on the dining room table when I came back from school for the summer, and immediately assumed it was the end of the world as I knew it.

When I asked him what possessed him to buy it, I was shocked to find out it was for his own reading pleasure.

Exhibit A: the culprit

This is to say, I was delighted- I barricaded myself in my room and proceeded to read until I couldn’t see two feet infront of myself

As some of you might know, I have been trying to get in touch with Howard Schultz personally for the past few months regarding my start-up business, Will Edit For Coffee. Through E-mail, twitter, and even a personal FedEx, I have been struggling to reach out to this man for one simple reason: a button.

The goal of Will Edit For Coffee is to provide college students with a resource to have their papers edited by students like themselves, who will in turn be paid with coffee with the press of a button. The target brand: Starbucks.

And although I have worked tirelessly to have Schultz read 50 words describing potential partnership plans, I am in the process of reading 350 pages of his (I will admit, absolutely fascinating) novel which probably took months of writing and copyediting to achieve. I admit that I laughed a bit to myself.

No matter- although I am only 50 pages in, I am reminded why marketing professionals like my Principles of Marketing teacher idolized him- because, really, this man is amazing. He lives and breathes coffee- and if that isn’t enough, he came from a working-class background and created his own success.

so far, this is a fascinating read and I, without a doubt, will be barricading myself in my room to read it for a few more hours. As soon as my eyesight returns.

-Mel

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Book of Schultz at Melanie Renee Katz.

meta

